204 Home Forums 20Forum The Rules

This topic contains 2 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Herb 3 weeks, 6 days ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #97425 Reply

    Herb

    Before a start a overlapped leeward can head up a windward boat, not sailing a proper course however once the race starts can the leeward boat continue to luff?

  • #97448 Reply

    Rob J

    It depends on how the overlap was established. If the windward boat created the overlap by sailing to windward of the leeward boat then the leeward boat can luff after the start. If the leeward boat created the overlap when it sailed to leeward of the windward boat it must sail its proper course after the start.

  • #97467 Reply

    Herb

    So are you saying in second scenario the leeward boat who created the overlap can’t pinch or head up ie luff in a tactical manner after the start

Reply To: The Rules
Your information: